Focus On What You Do Have and Not What You Don’t

IMG_1371

If you’re like me and your mind is constantly running you can’t help but think of all the things that can go wrong or the things in life you don’t have. What about teaching your mind to focus on the positive? Try to redirect your thoughts so you think about what you have accomplished and the good things you do have. These things don’t have to cost money. They can be as simple as helping someone or having someone who loves you at the end of the day. Actually, it doesn’t even have to be a someone it can be a something like a pet who shows you unconditional devotion. If that doesn’t relax you and make you smile then I don’t know what will. What you do have is knowing how far you have come. You are not the same person you were a year ago, a month ago, a week ago, or even a day ago because you’re constantly moving and learning. 

I know saying that you should focus on the positive is easier said than done. Believe me it is something I am constantly telling myself in hopes that if I say it enough and do it enough it will happen naturally. Start by asking yourself simple questions like are you or have you been to jail or rehab. Hey, I know shit happens but if you can say no to those questions then you’re already ahead of the game and have a good head on your shoulders. If you’re in your twenties you see that this isn’t a silly thing to ask yourself because many people around you can’t answer no to these questions. Like I said because of that you’re off to a good start you already have something to be proud of.

Maybe you went to college or maybe you didn’t who cares! Are you working? Can you pay your bills? Are you in charge of your life or do your parents take care of everything for you? Once again I get it you’re in your twenties you need help and you’re still young. I know I live at home and there are things my parents help me with, which I am extremely grateful for because I couldn’t keep an umbrella above my head myself much less a roof! Yes I work but in no way am I bringing in the money to take care of everything myself. I am able to pay for my car (that I lease because it’s all I can afford), pay my ridiculous loan payment, fill my tank with gas, put clothes on my back, and pay for any other necessities or bills that pop up. With that being said and all bills paid I can honestly tell you I barely have any money in my checking account because I am just getting by. IT SUCKS but I manage and I can say I do it myself. See theres that silver lining. I remind myself this is temporary and I have time to figure things out. I will get that job I want and deserve one day, but for now I need to be proud of the fact that I’m not a bum and don’t have to ask my parents for anything besides food and a place to live. I would say I’m pretty self sufficient and that is a good thing.

If you asked me last week how I thought things were going for myself I would have told you what I don’t have and what I want. Back to that constantly learning and growing. It’s true you see things differently all the time. You reach out to that support system you have whether its a friend or family member and you let them pick you up when you feel down. If they love you and believe in you they are going to tell you that you are right on track. My therapy most days consists of coming home and crawling into bed with  my cats. I will gladly take the crazy cat lady title because I love those fur balls to death. When I have those moments of doubt I hold them and remind myself no matter what goes wrong during my day I still have them. They love and need me unconditionally and that is a good thing to have.

Think about those good things no matter how small. Don’t focus on not having money in the bank, the fancy car, your own house, or the dream job because it will only give you a heavy heart and a clouded mind. If the only thing that gets you through your day is telling yourself your alive then so be it! You are alive so live it with a smile as much as you can because we are not all so blessed. As you grow each day you will see you are on your way. Everything will fall into place. It may take a while but the present is not forever. BE PROUD OF WHO YOU ARE BECAUSE YOU HAVE WORKED HARD TO BECOME HER!

Leave a Reply

